Toggle Accessibility Tools

Sugar Creek

Program Outline

Printable Schedule PDF

All events will take place at Turkey Run Inn. Meeting sessions and poster presentations will take place in the Lusk Room. Meals will be served in the Narrows Dining Room.

Friday, October 25, 2019


4:00-6:00 pm             Registration and Poster Hanging

6:00 pm                      Dinner

7:15-7:25 pm               Introduction and Welcome – David Vinyard and Danny Ducat


Session 1 – David Vinyard, chair

7:25-8:10 pm              Keynote Lecture – Rob Burnap, Oklahoma State University

          Combined biophysical and molecular genetic studies on the assembly and catalysis of the water-splitting metal cluster of Photosystem II

8:10-8:30 pm              Kaitlyn Faries, Washington University in St. Louis

           Engineering B-branch electron transfer in the bacterial reaction center:  Consequences of saturation mutagenesis at L185 near the B-side  bacteriopheophytin

8:30-8:50 pm              Maria Santos-Merino, Michigan State University

           Testing the capacity of heterologous metabolic sinks to replace photoprotective mechanisms in cyanobacteria

8:50 pm                       Mixer and Poster Viewing


Saturday, October 26, 2019


7:00 am                       Breakfast


Session 2 – Danny Ducat, chair

8:45-9:30 am              Keynote Lecture – Kathryn Fixen, University of Minnesota

            “Fix”ing to make fuel: Understanding electron flow in an anoxygenic phototroph

9:30-9:50 am              Iskander Ibrahim, Purdue University

            An evolutionarily conserved iron-sulfur cluster underlies sensory function of the Chloroplast Sensor Kinase

9:50-10:10 am            Ashwani Rai, Louisiana State University

             Mitochondrial carbonic anhydrases play an essential role in fixing CO2 by Chlamydomonas reinhardtii

10:10-10:40 am          Lisa Utschig, Argonne National Laboratory

             Shining light on photosynthetic reaction center biohybrids for hydrogen production

10:40-11:00 am          Coffee Break

11:00-11:20 am          Steven McKenzie, Purdue University

            Stoichiometry of electron transport complexes in plant photosynthetic membrane

11:20-11:40 am          Anton Avramov, Oklahoma State University

            Photoactivation of Mn depleted cyanobacterial thylakoid membranes as a tool for understanding Mn4CaO5 assembly and its mechanism of action

11:40-12:00 pm          Rebekah White, University of Arkansas – Little Rock

            Analysis of membranes and structures in the DspA-deletion mutant of Synechocystis sp. PCC 6803

12:00-12:30 pm          Mike Reppert, Purdue University

             Horses before zebras: Classical and quantum coherence in spectroscopy and dynamics

12:30 pm                      Lunch


                                    Afternoon Free


4:00-6:00 pm              Poster Viewing

6:00 pm                       Dinner


Session 3 – Carole Dabney-Smith, chair


7:15-7:35 pm              Kelsey Dahlgren, University of Colorado – Boulder

         Development of a proximity-based proteomics technique using APEX2 to determine the thylakoid lumen proteome of Synechococcus sp. 7002

7:35-7:55 pm              Neil Miller, Oklahoma State University

          Cyanobacterial NDH-1 complexes contribute to the formation of DpH across the thylakoid membrane

7:55-8:15                     Neva Agarwala, Georgia State University

          Photosystem I with halogenated naphthoquinones incorporated into the A1 binding site studied using time-resolved infrared difference spectroscopy

8:15-8:45 pm              Jeffrey Cameron, University of Colorado – Boulder

          Regulation of photosynthesis at single-cell resolution

8:45 pm                       Mixer and Poster Viewing


Sunday, October 27, 2019


7:00 am                       Breakfast


Session 4 – Sergei Savikhin, chair

8:45-9:05 am              Hiroki Makita, Georgia State University

          Vibrational modes of neutral state quinones in Photosystem I

9:05-9:25 am              Yongbin Kim, Purdue University

           Quantum mechanical modeling of excitonic structure and spectroscopy of the Fenna-Matthews-Olson Complex

9:25-9:45 am              Leyla Rohani, Georgia State University

           ONIOM modeling for the A1 binding site in Photosystem I

9:45-10:15 am            Arkaprabha Konar, Kent State University

            Vibronic structure of the bacterial reaction center revealed by multi-spectral 2D electronic spectroscopy

10:15-10:35 am          Coffee Break

10:35-10:50 am          Award Presentations and Closing Remarks – Danny Ducat