Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Share this story

Announcing the inaugural winners of the Keegstra and Thomashow 2018 Travel Award

Pengfei Cao and Alyssa Preiser have been awarded the inaugural Keegstra and Thomashow Travel Award. Both graduate students were each awarded $1200 to present their research at upcoming science conferences.

The award was established to enrich the education and future careers of promising PRL students. It helps them attend high quality science conferences, where they get to network, learn about new discoveries, and pursue new lines of collaboration and research.

Alyssa is a graduate student in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the lab of Thomas Sharkey. Her research focuses on the Calvin cycle, the photosynthetic mechanism that provides carbon for plant development and defense.

She says, “I was happy to hear that I received the travel award. I will attend two conferences over the summer, and I'm really excited to share the work that I've been doing. I have benefitted from a lab environment and Dr. Sharkey’s direction that encourages us to tell the stories of our research, and it's an honor to be recognized as having a story worth telling.”

Pengfei is a student in the Department of Plant Biology and the lab of Federica Brandizzi. He focuses on mechanisms that regulate the morphology of the endoplasmic reticulum, the plant cell’s main protein manufacturer.

He says, “I feel excited and honored to be a recipient of the travel award. I cherish this award as a recognition of research that I could only accomplish under Dr. Brandizzi’s supervision and as a member of the PRL family. With the provided opportunity, I will spare no effort to enrich my education and broaden the research impact of the PRL.”

The award was established by two former PRL directors, Ken Keegstra (1993 – 2006), and Michael Thomashow (2006 – 2015) and their spouses, Sue Keegstra and Suzanne Thomashow.

The former directors and their spouses believe that graduate students need to learn how to effectively communicate their research at high quality scientific conferences. However, financial support for such activities is becoming ever more limited, which is why they created this award.

Top Stories

Plant "ER": Advanced genomics illuminate new mechanisms for stress mitigation Plant "ER": Advanced genomics illuminate new mechanisms for stress mitigation

As our planet’s climate continues to be unpredictable, understanding how plants respond to adverse environmental conditions becomes essential. Improving crop productivity will be vital to feed the nine billion people estimated to be alive in 2050.

2022 Anton Lang Memorial Award winners announced 2022 Anton Lang Memorial Award winners announced

Grad student Philip Engelgau and postdoc Peipei Wang have been awarded the 2022 Anton Lang Memorial Award at a ceremony which took place on Monday, April 25, 2022. This year’s lecture was given by Professor Emeritus Govindjee from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Building 'nanofactories' to help make medicines and more [LINK] Building 'nanofactories' to help make medicines and more [LINK]

Spartan research in the lab of Cheryl Kerfeld could lead to efficient, low-cost chemical reactions for valuable products with help from teensy compartments made by bacteria.