Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Share this story

Gregg Howe awarded Fellow of ASPB Award

Gregg Howe is the recipient of a Fellow of ASPB Award by the American Society of Plant Biologists.

Established in 2007, the Fellow of ASPB Award recognizes distinguished and long-term contributions to plant biology and service to the society by current members in areas that include research, education, mentoring, outreach and professional and public service.

“I am honored to receive a Fellow of ASPB Award,” said Howe. “More than anything, the award reflects the hard work and dedication of the many students and postdoctoral fellows I have had the privilege to work with over the past 20 years at Michigan State.”

Christoph Benning, PRL Director, said that Howe has played a key role in elucidating the perception mechanism of jasmonic acid in plants.

“Gregg and his coworkers have also established how plant trichomes [leaf hairs] provide chemical defenses against insects,” Benning explained. “Currently, he studies how jasmonic acid affects carbon partitioning for growth and defense functions. In addition to his scientific accomplishments, Gregg has been a great citizen as editor and reviewer, and a great mentor to his students and postdocs. This recognition is well-deserved, and we congratulate Gregg on becoming a Fellow of ASPB.”

A formal awards ceremony to honor this year’s recipients will be held on June 24 during ASPB’s Plant Biology 2017 meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii.


Top Stories

Plant "ER": Advanced genomics illuminate new mechanisms for stress mitigation Plant "ER": Advanced genomics illuminate new mechanisms for stress mitigation

As our planet’s climate continues to be unpredictable, understanding how plants respond to adverse environmental conditions becomes essential. Improving crop productivity will be vital to feed the nine billion people estimated to be alive in 2050.

2022 Anton Lang Memorial Award winners announced 2022 Anton Lang Memorial Award winners announced

Grad student Philip Engelgau and postdoc Peipei Wang have been awarded the 2022 Anton Lang Memorial Award at a ceremony which took place on Monday, April 25, 2022. This year’s lecture was given by Professor Emeritus Govindjee from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Building 'nanofactories' to help make medicines and more [LINK] Building 'nanofactories' to help make medicines and more [LINK]

Spartan research in the lab of Cheryl Kerfeld could lead to efficient, low-cost chemical reactions for valuable products with help from teensy compartments made by bacteria.